Follow up with CIO

I had my follow up meeting with my CIO (previous meeting) after she promised to continue reading the experimental internal blog site. I had challenged her, saying that if she didn't revisit it, it was because she didn't have a feed reader. Nearly two weeks since that first meeting and she hadn't gone back once! Actually, I was surprised – I had thought she might get back there once or twice – but it showed how this stuff doesn't work without a reader.

I installed the RSS Bandit on her machine and subscribed her to a couple of feeds, internal and external. She's copied me in on a couple of emails in which she has been singing the praises of the feed reader. I will be checking back with her in another week or so to see how she has gotten on, but early indications are that it's really working. Having the reader alert you to new content so completely revolutionises the way you interact with the web.

One lesson: this has to be experienced. If at all possible get the stakeholders to experience RSS, there's only so much an explanation can achieve.

Leave a Reply

