Communityserver 2.0 beta 3

I had a play installing WordPress as an alternative blog engine. Whilst I really like WordPress as a blog application, communityserver has one major advantage – it is built around the concept of a community of bloggers – rather than just the one.

This is exactly the feature we need, and even though the blog experience is not as well featured, the fact that I can hold an unlimited number of blogs within the one space is so overwhelmingly brilliant that I can live with the blog engine. Don’t get me wrong, it’s works fine and is perfectly easy to use – just not as nice as WordPress.

When you visit the site, you get a view of the activity of the whole blogging community, not just each individual. In fact, you can subscribe to an RSS feed at this level and get a syndication for the entire community. I can’t express how useful I think this aspect of the application will be going forward.

I decided to have a go setting up Communityserver 2.0 beta 3. Setup went fine, proving that it wasn’t a fluke when I set up version 1.1 some months ago :-). Initial impressions are very positive – so much so, that I want to use version 2 beta 3 when I expand the blogging experiment next month.

I’m going to move the software off my desktop onto a virtual server, we’re just starting to adopt the virtual technology – a bit late in the day, I know. So it’s becoming semi official! Once I have the software set up, I will begin the arduous task of getting our techies blogging to each other.

I’m not too sure how I’ll tackle that one yet… perhaps it’s time to read Scoble’s book.

Leave a Reply

